today: friends

Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival. -C.S. Lewis

If you’ve known me for any length of time, you know this story already. A few years ago I started a nannying job for a family. And then they moved to Massachusetts. And we stayed in touch. I visited. Then I visited again. Then I visited again. I kept visiting and over visits, our friendship grew.

We’ve taken trips and shared stories. I’ve watched the kids grow up in front of my camera lens some, but they’ve grown up in front of me too. That distinction is important for a photographer to make. We’ve read books and built towers and raced cars and snuggled before bed. They were newborns when I met them, and they’re about to be four.

I cannot imagine my life without them. If there’s a lesson I’ve learned about friendship in general in reviewing this friendship time and again (this time as I wrap up yet another trip), it’s this: the best of friendships build over time and often when you’re not paying attention. That makes them seem divinely gifted, and of that gift the only response is a thankful heart. God’s kindness to me shows up most clearly in the people in my life. And He has been very kind.

More to come about the trip. Typically, I blog more on these trips, but this time I brought the boy along, which busied things up a bit. I worked a lot too. But the stories to tell are germinating in my head. They’ll come. I’m getting ready to leave tomorrow morning, though, after ten days here and wanted to get some thoughts down tonight.

In the meantime, a plane ride home tomorrow, with thanks.

Leave a Reply

