tonight: only thanks

” I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought, and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.”
-G.K. Chesterton

stings this realization again
too many yeses induce ever-present tension
diminishing quality of an over-quantified
at the moment under-examined life
without
all i need this depth of field shallow-ed
one far too hallowed for cessation
neither admonishing nor ignoring my choices
at the moment, seen by one so alive
with
me in all my missteps
yet too undeniable this ever-present love
in full, expanding back to tender, hearts
with all my heart surrender
and then life new (diminishing the old)
with thanks
only thanks restored
again

Zealously I over-commit. Zealously God is gracious in the midst of that. And slowly, s l o w l y, maybe I am learning.

Leave a Reply

