today: 23of28. my sister is getting married.

everything must change
we will never be the same

-David Crowder

In less than two months, my sister is getting married. She’s the first of us to do so, so it’s a whole new ballgame. Along with the anticipating of the wedding, there’s the planning for the marriage. Bridget will move cross country. She needs a new job. She’ll start a life there.

Today I received the wedding invite, and I thought about how weddings are one of the few covenants left in our culture. I thought about how God gets behind a couple and makes a covenant with them at the same time they make one with each other. I think that’s important to know going into marriage. God thinks Bridget and Brian’s story matters enough to get right in the middle of their story.

I need to rsvp to the wedding and buy a dress and figure out what shoes I can wear. Being on my feet all day kills my desire to wear fun girly shoes, and having been a wedding photographer for a few years now, I don’t even bother with looking for great heels for a big day. All the external trappings must be attended, though.

That said, Bridget and Brian need more than a headcount and nicely dressed crowd in attendance. They’re stepping into something big. For these next less-than-two-months and for the long haul, they need prayers. They need friends and family to come alongside them. Everything will change, yes, and we get to change right along with them, hopefully for the best. That is so very good.

One response to “today: 23of28. my sister is getting married.

  1. Pingback: today: 24of28. On packing and love. | Justmetoyou’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

