today: 5of28. Little girl, a big reminder (and apple pie).

“It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”
-Dumbledore in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

Tonight, dinner at the Harbaughs, which meant arriving to kids playing outside. Emily, the youngest, just shy of five makes me think of the last five-and-a-half years her mama and I have been steady friends, in each others lives with consistency and depth. What I value about this friendship in particular, among other things, is that we are in such different life stages. The common ground we’ve found centers around conversation and our faith and people. When I consider Heather, I know God places people in our lives who fit us just so. Heather asks great questions and listens. We sharpen each other. We pray. We laugh. We eat. We share our lives, our stories.

For most of these last few years, Heather and I spent more time traveling together than we traveled with anyone else. We drove teams back and forth to Mexico. We got involved in a community. We brought others along. We hoped and prayed and did our best to love and let ourselves be loved in that little colonia. I look at Emily and see that whole history, because Heather was pregnant with her the first time we went to Mexico. She’s a visual reminder of that time line. I love that. And I love that though we are no longer going to Mexico on a regularly scheduled routine we are still seeing a wonderful story in the community we love. And I love that our friendship hasn’t missed a beat now that we don’t have to meet ever couple of weeks (or sometimes days) to prepare for a trip.

We are busy, both of us. We find time. I love that.

Tonight that time looked like the kids stealing my boyfriend for a while while dinner finished cooking. It looked like music and baking and eating (tortilla soup… then hot apple pie with ice cream). It looked like cards after the kids went to bed. It looked like driving home full and thankful. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again and again: I know God’s kindness best through the people he’s put in my life.

(P.S. I maybe know that kindness through apple pie too. Maybe.)

Leave a Reply

