today: this, a confession

“There are times to stay put, and what you want will come to you, and there are times to go out into the world and find such a thing for yourself.”
-Lemony Snicket (and it’s good to know which time you are in…)

I am learning a new thing (I mean, hopefully I am always learning new things). This new thing, though has been challenging and has a lot of moving parts. In the learning process, I am seeing this not-so-pretty side that probably needs to be stripped away: I have tremendously high expectations of myself. Learning makes me giddy with anticipation, but when things take time? Holy cow, am I impatient. That impatience? Exhausting.

Grace, which often comes easily for others, seems out of reach when I need to extend it to myself. Somehow I suspect I am not alone in this, so I’m throwing it out here as a confession of sorts. Sometimes owning a fault disarms it.

Not the most profound of posts, but I needed to get this out.

Leave a Reply

