Today: Super G’s Super Big Day (how the world became a better place yesterday)

For the past few months, I’ve spent my days supernannying for baby Grant, age six months. He’s my sweetest baby buddy. I love him. A lot. Yesterday was a really big day for little Grant. Yesterday, Grant’s adoption finalized. As I type those words, my eyes are tearing up. Again. They have every time I’ve thought about yesterday morning.

In case you were wondering, 7:45 is early for me. For me to be dressed, parked and on the fifth floor of the courthouse in Downtown Fort Worth by that time is quite an accomplishment. When Grant’s mom asked me if I wanted to come to the court date, though, I knew I had to go. I’ve spent a lot of time with the little guy, and though he’s too young to know it, it was a very important day. So up and dressed I was.

While we waited to be called into the court room, I noticed two other families with babies in arms gathering in the hallway. We were all invited into the courtroom together. The judge called court into session. Grant’s name was not called first. That was a good thing, because as soon as the proceedings started for the first little guy, one Eli from Ethiopia, I was a mess of tears. So were Grant’s relatives in attendance.

Watching a baby whose name we only just learned become part of a family was so very right. My tears, I think, were the kind of tears that come when you realize you’re in the midst of a sacred moment. As Eli’s parents paused for photos, I thought, “we are witnessing as the world becomes a better place.”

The proceedings of the second baby were similar. We witnessed as the world become a better place again.

And then Grant’s name was called. And the judge read some words. Grant’s parents raised their hands and promised to love Grant for ever. They committed to take care of him in every sense of the word. They declared him their son. The court validated their relationship. And I cried, fully then, because the significance of watching this little boy who I have grown to love as he was given permanence in his family? It was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen.

Rare are the days when you get to witness such beauty. The world became a better place, overwhelmingly. I know Grant’s name. I know his squeaky little cry. I’ve watched his cheeks grow chubby as the months pass. I know how to calm him when he’s sad and how to get him to sleep when he’s tired. I know this little boy. I love him. Watching two other little boys’ adoptions proceed just prior to my little buddy’s gave me some time to realize my heart was expectant and joyful.

The third time the world became a better place in that courtroom in Fort Worth, I breathed a quiet prayer of thanks. I saw grace personified in Grant’s parents holding their boy and believed God knew this would be Grant’s story. He is theirs. I marveled at the tangibility of love in the room.

Grant has a family. I remain amazed and awestruck at the significance. Adoption is amazing.

5 responses to “Today: Super G’s Super Big Day (how the world became a better place yesterday)

  1. What a picture of God’s grace in my own life. Thanks for sharing the story.

  2. These are amazing! I am so happy that you were there to be a part of these moments. What a lucky little guy!!!

  3. Thank you for sharing your story. It made my heart happy for all of you!!!

  4. this, my friend, is beautiful. thanks for a reminder that the world really is a good place.

  5. i love this. thank you so much for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

