tonight: hello, city.

“The life of our city is rich in poetic and marvelous subjects. We are enveloped and steeped as though in an atmosphere of the marvelous; but we do not notice it.”
-Charles Baudelaire

(Please forgive the rhyme-y musings. This place draws out sentimental gush.)

once upon a time
on a whim
i moved to this city
after visiting friends
two quick years
just a flash in a pan
too many fears
stacks of stories on hand
so when i come back
here i am
here
i
am

I love Toronto. This city gets got under my skin and resides in my heart in a way no other place has. It captivates me. Most of the wonder has to do with the people here. Some of it, though, is the cool air in summer and the stacks of flats and the curve of the city as it spoons the lake. These aesthetics? They feel like pieces of my life that I somehow pocketed and carry with me wherever I am. The backdrop of this place? It suits me.

No photos tonight because someone packed her camera sans a memory card when she went downtown for dinner tonight (with Joni! and Paul!). That same someone didn’t even bring her handy dandy i-Phone, which would have sufficed for a photograph or two of the splendor of this place. Apologies.

2 responses to “tonight: hello, city.

  1. Yeah for places like Toronto!

  2. So, you do realize that you still need to post up photos? Just checking in to be sure.

    Hey, when you are in town do you ever still make it over to Grace Vineyard? I am flying into the DFW on the weekend of the 15th for a Monday morning interview and I was going to try to make it over there to church (if the flight arrives early enough). The job is in Irving so I was also looking for good advice on possible apartment shopping.

Leave a Reply

