today: the thing about lost

“I like the character roles. Somewhere back there I really came to the conclusion in my mind that the difference between acting and stardom was major. And that if you become a star, people are going to go to see you. If you remain an actor, they’re going to go and see the story you’re in.”
-Morgan Freeman

Season four. That’s when I started watching. I inhaled the first three seasons on DVD with Randy, one of my besties, over dinner and beer multiple nights in a row. We opted in late. And in the end it didn’t matter. Tonight we ate sushi and said goodbye to our favorite show. We invested 121 hours in Lost like millions of others.

And I cried at the end. Not so much because it ended. During the last episode all the faith/science questions came up, and life and death choices were made. Heroes revealed themselves to be just that as they had time and again over the last six years. Romance? Adventure? Success and failure? Consequence? Yup, all there. Epic stories give us space to consider ourselves and our stories in spaces different than our own. They allow us to wrestle through hard questions and linger over lack of answers. They involve sacrifice. They don’t necessarily resolve.

We tell stories because we live story. Epic stories, I think can provoke us towards epic lives if we let them. The TV is off. I’m thinking about redemption and hope and joy and sorrow and life and how I want to live in a direction that errs on the side of grace, that clings to the thinnest sliver of hope no matter what the context. None of the characters in Lost started with clean slates, but many made choices that redefined and directed their paths towards redemptive chapters. I love that.

So yeah, adios Jack and Sawyer and Kate and Hurley and Jin and Sun and all the others (and Des, especially Des… how I will miss him). May the epic-ness of one well-told story produced from the imaginations of a team of writers, producers, actors and all the others that contribute to a TV show provoke epic-ness in the way we do life. It’s reflective of Someone I know, and He tells a great story because he is the great Story. That thought makes me want to leave the TV off for a while.

One response to “today: the thing about lost

  1. Really awesome post! Truely.

Leave a Reply

