today: hope goes. hope. go.

“What oxygen is to the lungs, such is hope to the meaning of life.”
-Emil Brunner

Tell me that you’ll open your eyes.
Snow Patrol

I made these pictures with my i-phone.

Today, a day to remember the thing deep inside that sets me always looking out, always lacing up shoes, always pricing tickets, always ready to go… Wanderlust or whatever this driving force is provokes hunger and faith and dreams. And they’re meant to be sought out, chased down and captured so that the next chapter looks wholly different from the current one. And it’s a good thing. Maybe a great thing. Wide-eyed I remembered some things about hope today and how it shapes a soul given over to it.

To live hopefully might just be the most beautiful thing I know. To live hopefully means to seek out One who is close and yet cannot be fully known. He’s just that big. That mysterious. That good. And I don’t know whether to run and hide like the children of Israel or to give myself over to His presence like their leader so fearfullyandfearlessly did. I think I am the former wanting to be the latter. Most of us stumble around that part, I guess. But one of these days I want to find my feet.

Hope does not disappoint, so says the epistle writer. Instead, a life given over to hope might just be a life that changes. Herself. And the world. Today I dared hope. Tonight I hope. (Will flesh this out with some words in the days to come.)

One response to “today: hope goes. hope. go.

  1. Great photos as usual. I can always relate so much to what you write. For me it has always been the U2 song “I Still haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” that I could relate to:

    That isn’t so much about turning up my nose at whatever is in front of me in discontent as much as just desiring to say “Nope. I’m not done yet. There is more for me to do and experience. I won’t settle. I won’t give up. I am pressing forward.”

    You know, I think that is just life. Some people get into things: homes, cars, pools, jobs for 20 years within 10 minutes of neighbors for 20 years, etc. I think I envy that too. I think I want to find contentment in that as well. But even if I slowed down enough to buy a home and get out of living in the middle of a city, I imagine there will always be this part of me that would still demand that I continue to explore the world, take time and go have adventures.

Leave a Reply

