today: Wednesdays belong to Claire

My humanity is bound up in yours, for we can only be human together.
-Desmond Tutu

A couple of months ago, I was in Bellingham, and I hung out with my bestie Carla, her husband Johnny and her newborn girl Luci for a couple of weeks. While I was there I became aware of a void that doing photography sometimes leaves me with, and that void is people in the day-in, day-out routine of my week. I was spending my workweek alone, other than when I was taking photos. Which was fine. I quite enjoy being alone. I had the thought, though, that I needed some balance. Having always been glad to have my arms full of babies to love on (but without that “must-have-a-baby-now” thing that some people have… I just like babies. We get along.), I thought maybe I’d find a new family to help out during the week here and there.

I think it was a God thought, because the next day, Monica called and asked for some help. Monica was a photo client, and now she is a friend. For the last month or so, Wednesdays have belonged to Monica and her sweet youngest Claire, now nine-weeks-old. Her older kids join us towards the end of the day too. Claire arrived on the scene a bit earlier than expected, so she’s a tiny little miss. We spend our days doing the things you do when a newborn is around: feeding, diapering, sleeping, running errands. It’s routine stuff, really.

The thing about these Wednesdays I’ve spent with Claire and Monica is that I love them. So much life exists in Monica and my conversations and playing with the kids after school. And Claire? She is presently my littlest friend. My Wednesdays allow me to catch my breath for the rest of the week, which is a funny thing, because I’m there to help out. In reality, they are helping me. I am better at doing the rest of my week with this schedule of spending a day or two out of the house, not doing photography and super-nannying it up. I have no idea why this is. I just know it fits.

In a few weeks I’ll be done helping Claire and her family, but I’ve realized the value and gift given me on these days. It’s been so. very. good. I’ve made another little friend who will be sticking around after I don’t spend my Wednesdays with Claire anymore (that thought makes me sad). He’s deserving of his very own blog post, because he’s a lot of little man to hang out with. We’ll save that one.

Leave a Reply

