today: ready

“…Real adventure – self-determined, self-motivated, often risky – forces you to have firsthand encounters with the world. The world the way it is, not the way you imagine it. Your body will collide with the earth and you will bear witness. In this way you will be compelled to grapple with the limitless kindness and bottomless cruelty of humankind – and perhaps realize that you yourself are capable of both. This will change you. Nothing will ever again be black-and-white.”
Mark Jenkins

It was a day that could be summed up like this: I am ready to go; I am willing to stay. That, I think, summarizes the journey of faith. The readiness heightens a paradoxical sense of both anticipation and impatience. The willingness makes concrete peace undefined by circumstance, which is where humanity lives best. Individually. Collectively.

Stories to come, but for now, just photos.

2 responses to “today: ready

  1. I absolutely love that picture of the bird! that is completely amazing! And today was one of those days where flying would be nice.

    Lately, the guys on my government consulting job are swamping me with questions about my faith. I’ve found that only the stories where Jesus shows up and does miraculous stuff (in my life) seems to give them pause… they don’t know what to think. Am I crazy? Could this be true that God reaches out to people and into their overly analytical humanistic brains? There is no logic to counter with. Either I am a liar …or …Jesus is really out there and they have been mostly ignoring him? I can tell you. I have served the Lord in Russia, and Guatemala, and Sweden, and Ireland, but home… it’s the toughest place of all. I think home is where Jesus has to show up the most or I either get too comfortable, too complacent or end up looking at myself like I am just the same as the person next door, forgetting they don’t know the Lord (…yet!) but today there were too many questions. I wanted to fly away a little bit. I needed to get up above the voices. But I suppose, everything that goes up, must come down.

  2. Pingback: today: from North Carolina, loved | Justmetoyou’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

