today: get to, round two

“If someone loves a flower of which just one example exists among all the millions and millions of stars, that’s enough to make him happy when he looks at the stars.”
-Antoine de Saint-Exupery in The Little Prince (Please, do yourself a favor and read this book if you haven’t and again if you have.)

Here’s something: I love going away. I do. And it does not escape me that hard realities exist in the world. Deep inside me I know God put in me a desire to do something about some of those things. Some of my love of going away lies right in the midst of that desire. And some of it is merely the wanderlust that fills me to capacity.

Here’s something else, and is big for me to see: so much of life here and now is goodness. That goodness does not negate hard realities, rather, it makes celebrating all the more important. Photography is multifaceted. Here one can tell the hard stories, and they are important. There one can tell the happy ones, and they are important. Some choose to manipulate the art, and that possibility is not right or wrong. It is an approach. The goodness I see makes me want to keep going and keep staying, to create images, to tell stories. Here is home.

It is…

oddities photographed for fun…

tenderness photographed for warmth…

laughter photographed for joy…

silly photographed because they are still young enough to be childlike.

Goodness makes me grateful. I get to do this. I get to live this. Thank you who journey with me. Thank You who made me wonder. (This post seems a little gushy, and if that is true, I will own it, because this is my process right now.)

One response to “today: get to, round two

  1. thank you for your journey. we all get to live fuller because we accompany you on it.

Leave a Reply

