today: this i hope

Dumbed down and numbed by time and age
Your dreams to catch the world, the cage
The highway sets the traveler’s stage
All exits look the same

Three words that became hard to say
I and love and you

I and Love and You, the Avett Brothers
(Go watch the video. You won’t regret it. Cello? Yes, please.)

Please excuse me while I go a little sappy…

dance w pie

…because Bridget took these photos of me and Pie yesterday, and I looked at them tonight. My eyes watered. This time of year is so busy, and I start thinking about all that needs to be done, particularly with shoeboxes for kids in Mexico. I struggle with trusting that it will all get done. But it does. Every year.

I digress.

My eyes watered, because I love the images. But they also watered, because (cue cheesy music): I hope I am becoming the kind of person who will always stop to dance in an alley with a little girl. Just because. I hope/want/need to learn to slow down enough to choose to be present in these fleeting moments. They are so. worth. it.

nov504

Pie and I haven’t hung out much lately, because I work with her mom, and we are busy. But I so love that little girl. And I so love these photographs. And you can so make fun of me for crying about them. That’s all.

nov501

5 responses to “today: this i hope

  1. I forgot you call her pie. I love how u ended it. The picture. Perfect touch. I have to make mention that I agree its important to slow down to dance in alleys, and to remember to. And if ur not crying over something so cherishable and sweet, then maybe something is missing in your life. I find the more I appreciate little things in life, the more I cry. Ha. I guess. Like a certain mannerism of a child only encouraging a reminder that she’s growing up and no longer, soon, to be a “little” girl. I hope u work out the anxiety of the shoes a little better. πŸ˜‰

  2. I love you. And Pie.

  3. Leslie sits on my lap as I read this and says, “Do you think Uncle Erin will dance with ME?”

  4. Never going to make fun of you for this. Just saying. I cry when my wife tells me, spontaneously, “I love you,” which is often enough that I am crying quite often.

  5. GREAT pics! You, Erin, have always been the type of person who will stop to dance. You pull beauty out of layers no one else notices. And share it. Don’t let others make you too busy–your God-given pace is peaceful. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

