today: thank you

“Joy is not in things; it is in us.”
-Richard Wagner (Stace wrote this in a birthday card years ago, and it became one of my favorite quotes.)

sept255

Sometimes, perhaps more often than I’d like to admit, my focus fall short of seeing light. I see half empty glasses without recognizing I know where the water source is and am capable of filling glasses right up… Saturday was not one of those days. It might have overflowed a little, as it is Sunday night, and I am feeling the afterglow. Amber and I took photos all day Saturday, and we paused to eat good food and enjoy lovely, passionate people (more on that another day). And I can’t help but think how blessed we are, how blessed I am.

sept293

I have all these things to work out.

All.
These.
Things.

And some of them are not easy. And some of them are scary. And some of them will require risk. Sometimes, though, a great omelet sandwiched between an endless array of celebratory photos is enough to cause a step back. That step back allows this realization: I am thankful for this life, all these things included.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

