today: raw materials

That which Voldemort does not value, he takes no trouble to comprehend, of house-elves and children’s tales, of love, loyalty and innocence, Voldemort knows and understands nothing. Nothing. That they all have power beyond the reach of any magic is a truth he never grasped.”
-Dumbledore to Harry, p 568 Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

sept071

Mondays do not last long enough. Perhaps this opinion will change when/if my schedule returns to a more normal schedule. In the meantime, Mondays are Sabbath. Everything stops.

Today it rained. Prayers went up followed by sighs breathed in. Feet ran farther than they had in a while. The i-pod carried a mix of Peter, Bjorn and John and The National (and if the guy from the National sounded more like Conor Oberst, they just might be the perfect band. Weird, right? These are the kinds of things I think about when I run without a lot on my mind. But I digress…). I discovered the Kroger near my house carries Graeters. You should go there and buy some. Trust me. I know about these things.

Words spilled from pen to journal. I caught up on sleep and dishes. I wrote no emails, made no phone calls, did no work and had a full stop kind of day. My guitar received some long overdue attention. My fingers did not protest. I rediscovered that the worst of movies can create the best of memories if the company is right. I allowed myself some hoping and some dreaming.

And tomorrow will be a work day followed by a work day. Today, though, I thrust my hands into the raw materials of the good stuff of life. Then I stepped back and stared at the canvas hours later, full, completely full. I’ll sleep thankful.

Leave a Reply

