tonight: remain child

“I am Eloise. I am six. I am a city child. I live at the Plaza.”

“Getting bored is not allowed.”
-Kay Thompson in the beloved Eloise books, one of which my little friend Lucas and I read before bed tonight.

sept103

not unaware of the tallness of trees and the darkness of dark
and sometimes not unafraid either
but not knowing better than showing fear looks good on a face
the tenderness it invokes when honored and dignified
perhaps hungered for day in and day out
so quick does sight get lost as we gain height and often, often forgo light
crouching down around fear and then it owns us
because we know better than vulnerability
removing from play that tenderness once welcomed
starving greatest need for want of preservation
so slow to recognize finding fullness requires humility
childlike much?
please just be.
please be.

Leave a comment