today: hidden trap doors

“…He meant that sometimes you get a glimpse into life that you never thought of before. There are hidden trap doors all over the place, and suddenly you see one, and the next thing you know… the world’s just so much bigger than you thought it was.”
-Julie Powell (p166 Julie and Julia)

1

I’ve got a thing or two to work out about this current page and the next one. That is all fine and dandy, but sometimes when life is so full of process, being present with people gets a little dicey. And deep down I know that is not okay. I know that when it comes right down to it, what matters is people. When it comes right down to it, whatever issues I have with myself or with others or with God are just that: issues. And they shouldn’t be allowed to negate the quality of life that comes from looking someone in the face and really, really, really seeing them.

Because here’s the crazy thing about making the kinds of choices that validate and dignify people (which is what being fully present does): it is so life giving. People are made for
fullness and
wonder and
love and
grace and
joy and
greatness and
so much more.

Taking some minutes or some hours and giving them away to others brings wholeness. It puts us right in the context that allows all that truth listed above to emerge. It’s like we were made for relationship or something.

Dear Self, try to remember that. Thanks.

Jeez, sometimes I feel like such a project.

3 responses to “today: hidden trap doors

  1. oh but what a project it is. to quote a beautiful soul a “blueprint for greatness.”

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

