today: the effort of present tense living

“When I am out there, in time, I am inverted, changed into a desperate version of myself. I become a thief, a vagrant, an animal who runs and hides. I startle old women and amaze children. I am a trick, an illusion of the highest order, so incredible that I am actually true.

“Is there a logic, a rule to all this coming and going, all this dislocation? Is there a way to stay put, to embrace the present with every cell? I don’t know…”
-Henry, protagonist and time-traveler in Audrey Niffenegger’s exquisite The Time Traveler’s Wife

“You are where you are. Let’s start with that.”

Jesh de Rox, photographer

july053

Sunday afternoon was, for reasons unknown to me (busyness, weariness, wanting-ness?) one of those days that everything messy that swirls around inside surfaced. Life happens that way sometimes. And so I tried to hold my empty hands up and hear God. I thought I should go for a walk. It was too hot for a run, and I thought I should bring my camera. Everything that seemed and seems so messy and so broken made me want to see. So I did.

May we who are broken find hope in the beautiful rising and falling of our chests as our lungs fill with air. May we see and know life alive.

broken flight

july019

july022

july024

july051

This one is my favorite:

july056

july058

july060

Leave a Reply

