today: one of those days

“Never write about a place until you’re away from it, because that gives you perspective.”
-Ernest Hemingway

easily i stumble away from grace
refusing hope’s desire
to help keep pace
and easily i crumble and replace
grumbling for gratitude
doubt for faith

tomorrow, be a better day

pics

Today went the way of being too busy with unexpected delays. By the time I got to the photo lab to pick up 4x6s to be packaged this week, I felt overwhelmed and cranky. Sleep didn’t join me in bed last night. The stack of photographs sat on the seat in my car taunting me about the lengths it added to my to-do list.

I got home and pulled the photos out of their envelopes. I piled them on the stool beside the table, because the table already held another day’s worth of work.

And the sight of those photos stacked up made me pause. I do not know why. My eyes teared up a bit. I felt kinda silly. They guy who handed me the photos at the lab had grinned as he said, “At least you’re making money.”

It wasn’t that he made the comment about making money. It’s that this little “what if” that is taking pictures has grown to a definite that means some days are those days, and photography is to blame. Somehow, God let me be somebody who gets to do this. I get to do it with someone I love a lot. I get to.

I photographed the pile of photographs to remember, today’s is a visual thanks.

What are your get to dos?

One response to “today: one of those days

  1. hey i think that someone might be me.
    insomnia is contagious.
    still, we are blessed.

Leave a Reply

