today: people

“So the story goes, so I’m told
The people he knew were
Less than golden hearted
Gamblers and robbers
Drinkers and jokers,
All soul searchers
Like you and me”

-Dave Matthews
Christmas Song

This is a post about the people I saw today. Mondays sprawl out and stretch and yawn and nap… days off sometimes mean I don’t see people. Today was not that kind of day off. And it was good. Now I am listening to Joshua Radin, up too late, content.

Julie and Sophia met me for lunch at the mall.

julie

Julie bought my lunch because I forgot my wallet. She also bought some new jeans because her growing baby bump requires an ever increasing amount of space. Julie is wise and insightful. She listens well. And she loves well. I like that about her.

sophia

Sophia and I visited while Julie tried on jeans. She told me about the baby who is coming soon and how she’s going to take care of her. She is excited. Her dad will be the other helper, she told me. Because Sophia will be the main helper when the new baby comes. Obviously.

We took a photo together because Sophia was intrigued by my camera.

es

Amber and her girls came over for a tea party after I got home from the mall. We put on party dresses and drank tea and ate scones.

emma

Emma wanted to come over to see my spiders. My apartment has had spiders since I moved in, mostly little tiny spiders in the corner of my living room. I ignore them. Emma had taken an interest. So we had a tea party so she could see them. She liked them.

grace

Is there anything more mesmerizing than Grace’s eyes? She was happy enough to eat “candeeee” and follow Emma around.

amber

Amber and I spend a lot of time together. We are working on a new website right now, so it’s kinda all photography all the time right now. Today was not all photography (though we did take photos). We hung out with her girls, a nice change of pace.

Randy came over tonight. We watched Corpse Bride. I had never seen it. I do love me some Tim Burton…

randy

My favorite thing about Randy, at least for today, is that he got lost on his way to my apartment. Where he hangs out several times a month. My other favorite thing about Randy is his mad chopsticks skills.

randyeat

All in all, it was a good day. I am thankful for the people in my life and the way they walk with me. These are the ones I saw today.

5 responses to “today: people

  1. I love your website! It is so enthralling. I love all the pictures and how you blog about each picture. It brings even more life to your wonderful photos.

  2. I love every picture of Grace. The two of you are a wonderful combo.

  3. Don’t you want to see me today? Or perhaps tomorrow? Or any old time… come on over to South Africa my friend. Saw your wedding picture on your photo website. Would have loved to do that with Chris. Well, just wanted to say that I love your blog, keep up the writing and pics.

  4. what a fun tea party…I’m a little bit jealous 🙂 Glad we get to walk this week. And the photos of Randy…priceless. He is a photogenic boy for sure.

  5. love the pics. such cool lighting. you are so talented. and love the blogs…..very inspiring…..

Leave a Reply

