quotable: anne lamott

img_66331Reading Anne Lamott tends to result in that feeling of familiarity and thankfulness you get when you hang out with someone you haven’t seen in a long time but who knows you and you know through and through. I love that.

From Grace (Eventually), p 10
“This was the day I pecked a hole out of the cocoon and saw the sky of ingredients that would constitute my spiritual path. This was the day I knew the ingredients of the spiritual that would serve me- love, poetry, meditation, community. I knew that sex could be a sacred as taking care of the poor. I knew that no one comes holier than anyone else, that nowhere is better than anywhere else. I knew that the resurrection of the mind was possible. I knew that no matter how absurd and ironic it was, acknowledging death and the finite was what gave you life and presence. You might as well make it good. Nature, family, children, cadavers, birth, rivers in which we pee and bathe, splash and flirt and float memorial candles- in these you would find holiness.”

Leave a Reply

